The Order of Time – Carlo Rovelli

I love physics and trying to understand the universe. I don’t understand any of it, though. It blows my mind just trying.

Rovelli here tries to tell us about time. How time passes differently depending on where you are (in the mountains, at sea level, moving, standing still). About how we can only move forward in time and how the present never really exists.

I listened to this on audiobook (thanks to my public library!) and though it was narrated by Benedict Cumberbatch, whose voice is very nice, I still had to pause about every ten minutes to check in with myself and see if I understood. Normally I did not. And so I rewound and tried again.

I had to make sure I wasn’t doing ANYTHING other than staring into space and breathing while listening. Still took me many, many days and I could have listened four more times and still come away slightly confused.

I loved every second.

Published by Bookish & Inked

Burgeoning poet, mistress of evenings.

Leave a comment